been a long time since i rock and rolled….and sold anything at my booth. ack.

inthepast2

for some reason, i am craving coffee at 11:30 at night and i can’t stop watching led zeppelin videos on you tube. oh sure…call me old school. i just can’t help it. i’m a child of the 70’s. i spent my days in jr. high school writing led zeppelin all over my blue, cloth covered notebooks with my black BIC pen. i spelled zeppelin with only one p and thought the name of the band was the lead singer’s name. boy…did i have A LOT to learn.

by 1977, i finally got it. led zeppelin THE BAND. oh. i met my friend amy in 1978 during our freshman year in high school and that was the beginning of a LONG quest for the mystique of this band we could not stop listening to. the band we craved at the time…..album after album….hip hugger pants after hip hugger pants, embroidered shirt after embroidered shirt, blown speaker after blown speaker, 8 track after 8 track. pennies after pennies to hold down the arm of our turntable needles….we craved this band more than any other at the time. before itunes, ipods, even before walkmans, we would air jam in my friend kim’s basement after school to led zeppelin’s physical graffiti album. the rover was my favorite. there were 4 of us girls and we would crank the volume up to 8 and rock out. this band transcended us and bonded us in a way that kept us close. i feel like my junking buddies do that for me now, so this is sort of related to junking. okay…so my friend amy was beyond intrigued by robert plant, and she joined a fan club from CREAM magazine (old school CREAM) and WON a trip to meet the band our senior year. she became one of the BIRDS and they choose her to fly to wales to meet the rock stars of her dreams!! she flew to wales that senior year and began a LONG LOVE AFFAIR (not that kind of love affair) of friends, travel and music that has defined her and carried her into this decade. i know this story has nothing to do with junk really, but…..my booth has been sooooo slow lately, that i have more time to think about my friends and my past….hence, led zeppelin videos. PLUS…it is all about romance and love this month.

to make a looooooonnnnggg story short, my friend amy still continues to travel around and see robert perform. she has been following the band now for 30+ years. she knows all the led zeppelin trivia you can imagine…i am a collector, so i know the passion and the drive it takes to generate one and amy has a mighty collection of zep merchandise. she has a mighty collection of zep memories. she has a mighty collection of the energy she needs to commit to the love of this band and their music. she has inspired me. this band has inspired me. i am friends with one of the most mystic, internal, honest, insightful and profound people i know. when i hear a band that stretches across every continent…is imitated and covered by soooo many musicians, that played rock and roll music the way it is intended….with guts, talent, mystique, sound, performance, appearance, soul, blues, folk, and gospel, i think of amy and i GET THE LED OUT.

amy…..i love you.

projectzep

PROJECT CORNER…………….

i had a chance to work on projects today, so i made a few signs, altered a few things and lined up more projects for the rest of the week. i bought a cheap, plastic mirror for a few dollars not long ago because i LOVED the ornate frame, so i thought i could shabby her up cute. i painted out the frame, used some embellishments around the mirror, added a pearl and rhinestone hanging hook, and dropped a prism at the bottom. i also had this cast off ornament that i painted white, dipped in glitter and added some antique lace inside. i strung some pearls to hold it and dropped a prism and a bow on the bottom. i think it looks great hanging in a window. these are all booth bound this week.

i got totally inspired by miss cheryl’s booth at ANTIQUES IN OLD TOWN. it’s on my blog roll. go check it out if you have time. if you love shabby white cottage and victorian inspired decor, you will go crazy for the look of this woman’s booth. it is AMAZING. that is what spawned this collection of projects.

projectsmirror

top of mirror with rhinestone and pearl hanger to hold mirror. i drilled some holes in the plastic and wired these pears and prims to it. this picture doesn’t show this well. sorry.

projecthanger

close up of ball.

projectball

i found this big stone column for 50 cents at g.w. bins and painted it out white. i wrapped tons of ribbon around it, glued pearls to it, glued a buttons backwards to it, so it would hold a prism and put a bow on the front. i had this crystal light cover that i used for a candle holder and tada….it is a little froo froo, but i like it okay.

projectcandle

old cast off brown sconce…painted out and stamped. added a chippy door knob to the top of the candle part. now it will hold purses, coats, or a collection of costume pearl necklaces. that would look fantastic.
projectdoorknob

i made some lace balls to put in one of my brown painted salad bowls. i love the way these turned out. so easy….so fun. i used some shabby pink fabric i tore into strips and then i embellished with lace.
projectballs

i have a technique for making these…..

I RECYCLE PLASTIC FOOD BAGS and i scrunch them up into balls and then i use newspaper to cover the bag. now i have a ball that i can wrap in fabric. what a great way to go green.

projectpurse

found this purse at a local charity shop. i added tea stained doilies and a cast off earring. i sewed a little crystal prism that dangles to the bottom of the purse and then tied pink bows on the straps. it was a good way to reuse a crocheted 197os purse.

projecttruelove

finished my true love. she is booth bound now.

projectswreath

another small wreath with lace.

projecthat

embellished hat. i added the tulle, a big pink bow and some roses.

projectmarthacande

lastly….since i am writing about love this month….here is my new one….MARTHA STEWART flower basket candle. very romantic. so cottage sweet. this is the bomb.

i better go. zoey has gas and she’s having a hard time sleeping tonight. how can a little girl so cute and adorable, make noises that sound like a grown man at a hot dog eating contest.

on that note….good night.

lol

12 Comments

Filed under altered art, family news, house photos, project corner, shades of white, white and chippy

12 responses to “been a long time since i rock and rolled….and sold anything at my booth. ack.

  1. What a wonderful post full of eye candy!! I love all of the little details and all of the glimpses of your Home in the background too. The fabric balls….how creative and I love the mirror hanging in the window..I have a few prints displayed like that in my windows.
    I must go and look at it all again!!!
    :))

  2. terrylee

    hey girl!

    loving your blogs and all the yummy pics!! can’t wait to get myself over to cove and into that magical place i go for my “vintagesue fix”!! am afraid i’ll buy you out!

    have been sick since we got home from abilene … but when i feel better, i’ll be heading west. to cove, that is.

    we have led zepplin fans in the house too (my hubby and daughter). i’m a product of the 70s as well … but i was more a barry manilow junkie. yikes. can’t believe i admitted that!

    thanks for your comments on my blog. i DID get great bargains at the brownwood antique barn. not GW barn prices (you get rather spoiled, ya know?), but bargains nonetheless. ALL the plates and cups were $6 total. the sweet old pink canister set was $7. the white metal rusty planter was $5. i think i spent a grand total of $33 and got LOTS o’ loot. that i NEEDED, of course. 😉

    motrin time and back to bed. hope to you soon, girlfriend!

    love and hugs,
    terry lee

  3. terrylee

    hey girl!

    loving your blogs and all the yummy pics!! can’t wait to get myself over to cove and into that magical place i go for my “vintagesue fix”!! am afraid i’ll buy you out!

    have been sick since we got home from abilene … but when i feel better, i’ll be heading west. to cove, that is.

    we have led zepplin fans in the house too (my hubby and daughter). i’m a product of the 70s as well … but i was more a barry manilow junkie. yikes. can’t believe i admitted that!

    thanks for your comments on my blog. i DID get great bargains at the brownwood antique barn. not GW barn prices (you get rather spoiled, ya know?), but bargains nonetheless. ALL the plates and cups were $6 total. the sweet old pink canister set was $7. the white metal rusty planter was $5. i think i spent a grand total of $33 and got LOTS o’ loot. that i NEEDED, of course. 😉

    motrin time and back to bed. hope to see you soon, girlfriend!

    love and hugs,
    terry lee

  4. Sad to say but I graduated in 1969 and my kids were raised on Led.(no unleded at our house) My son is still a huge fan. Your photos are an absolute stairway to heaven and I got a whole lotta love for this post. I just couldn’t resist. Debbie

  5. Sue

    Oh, you were going so well, until you mentioned Zoey’s gas!
    I have similar memories with the 70’s, though I followed a local band here in Australia.
    The quiet times are the best times for creating, no pressure, and youve come up with some great ideas, I love your lacey balls, might have to pinch it for my bedroom!
    The mirror looks great! Well, I better get onto my projects, my next sale is late Feb, but time is going very fast!
    Sue

  6. Your photos are beautiful and inspiring…..
    and I especially enjoyed your 70’s flashback! I was in junior high/high school during those years — I remember the blue jean covered notebooks/diaries. And love Love LOVE rock music!!
    Thanks for sharing!
    🙂
    ~Becca~

  7. I’m not sure how I made it here~ going from blog to blog…enjoyed my visit!
    Great blog!
    Tina~ Cherry Hill Cottage…

  8. Too cute… I briefly followed a group.. the Fugees.. Well they are now separated Wyclef Jean & Lauren Hill are the biggest of the bunch now…

    But yes, junking transcends many things even distance.. I have many junking buddies that I have yet to see but I know their love of treasure hunting…;)

    beautiful items.. and thanks for the tip… that is great green junk! Very responsible milady.

  9. Amy

    Sue-
    What a beautiful gift. Thank for supporting and honoring my love affair to Zeppelin all these years. I saw Song Remains The Same with you at midnight, budweiser in hands, sooo many times!

    Every single time I hear The Rover, I think of my dear Sue. And I picture the little drawing of those two young girls on the sleeve of Physical Graffiti. Me -n- You.

    I love you Sue.

  10. Amy

    I should clarify…thank you for honoring OUR love of the mighty Zep!!!

  11. Amy

    Oh, and you are going to will that piece with Battle of Evermore lyrics on it to me, yes? ;p

  12. Laurie (Amy's sister)

    Sue, I don’t know if you remember me! But I remember you! I live in NC now and I have an 11 yr. old who is “wild” for Zeppelin. Aunt Amy got him “The Mothership” CD. Now he’s getting all of is friends in 5th grade into them. Amy and I created a “Monster”! Ha Ha Laurie

Leave a Reply

