cottage inspirations driven by curside cast offs…..

shabbyfront

tuesday is trashday in my neck of the hood. tuesday is also cubscouts (fun stuff) and american idol. i look forward to tuesdays. i like a packed day that inspires me, keeps me busy, gives the kids something to do and leaves me with an entertaining t.v. program towards the end of the night. today was warm, so not only was it trash day, it was shabby project day. i trashpicked tons of boards, a small wobbly table, and a broken, huge plastic mirror frame. why????? what drives me to do such nonsense? i found some potential for them all. i also was given 2 long chippy aqua painted boards off my daycare provider’s mother’s house. my provider was using them to help keep her dog in the yard, but i thought maybe i would like to incorporate them into some crazy trash to treasure project, so i was blessed with boards. it really is the small stuff for me.

i actually got out my portable skill saw (yes, you can take it anywhere and cut just about anything you need to saw) and chomped those boards and nailed them to a cast off little night table. i was out in the sun…in my nightgown…sawing and hammering away like a total lunatic. when i was finished with all that nonsense,  i decoupaged some vintage fabric on as well and added a glass knob to my lil table. this project took about 2 hours to complete. ron would say it’s on the tacky side, but i kinda like the way it turned out. it was a labor of love. i think this table would look cute on the porch w/books or magazines, or flower frogs and garden stuff. bathroom??? towels and t.p. anyway, with the warm weather today, i was inspired by spring colors and that sweet aqua paint on those boards.

i also painted this 2 tiered rack i got at the sally store.

shabbytable

shabbytableside

i also found a bunch of boards to use as signs and a pitiful, small wobbly table. i couldn’t get the legs very stable, but i thought the size of the table was great, so i made a little shabby side table with pom poms and pretty rose fabric.

shabbytabletob

shabbypompoms

signs…..

shabbysigns

i plan to add several little rose cut outs and earrings on the garden sign. i will add sequins to the vintage sign. i had to pull way too many nails out of these boards today. i am pretty sure these boards are from a dresser. board rescue 911 and i did it still in my sweatpants, rose nightgown and sweat shirt. i am a big ole crazy junker.

i also trashed picked this monster frame. such a cast off…but i found potential. i love this rose fabric i bought the other day. i just unrolled it and glued it to board. there was a thick mirror in this frame that broke in half. i just took the mirror out and added fabric instead. i cut the wire off to hang it and added ribbon….

shabbyfabric

shabbywindow2

shabbywindow

shabbygreens

i will make these all go booth bound sometime this week or next. i was also given 10 mop buckets by a very, very, very generous customer. THANKS SOOOOOOOO MUCH. i brought you a card and 10 decorating magazines, but i missed you by just 10 minutes!!!

hey…when life gives you mop buckets….you make something…right? i’m workin on it. think i will make a laundry soap holder with one and a book holder for a child’s room with another. i had to drive around for a day with 10 mop buckets in my truck. what can i say???? i know my neighbors are worried now. what…doesn’t everyone on the block have 10 mop buckets in their backyard to paint pink and glue crap to? come on folks…where are your priorities??? hee hee.

shabbybuckets2

foolish…..

shabbybuckets

i knocked out just a few things this weekend….some tags, a little card holder and a necklace and frame (both made from lace and prisms). these tags were a breeze!!! old magazine clippings decoupaged on those crazy, vintage envelopes i bought a while back (yes…the infamous bags of endless faded envelopes that just seemed odd and pointless at the time). NOTE: do not adjust your computer monitor…just your eyes. this photo is sideways….i think.

annivtags

a little card caddy with a vintage postcard on it….

shabbycaddy

tons of jewels i just found in the shed. yes…..my name is sue and i’m a junk jewel hoarder. i am powerless and not in control. higher power….are you aware of this? okay….defect listed….moving on to the next junk pile…..one tuesday at a time…..driven to create for the spring….

shabbyjewels2

thumb is still very sore, so i need to stop typing for now. i’m also yawning. i am cold and i really want to eat like an italian sub sandwich from the local deli by my house i grew up in. tons of mayo, the softest sub bread ever, lunch meats, the best sandwich relish, onions and to die for italian dressing….YUM. it’s the thyroid.

you all have sweet dreams of vintage fabulousness and great cottage finds….

lol

15 Comments

Filed under altered art, rose inspired photos, trash to treasure, vintage finds

15 responses to “cottage inspirations driven by curside cast offs…..

  1. Ron

    Uhh, Sue what have you made? I hope that is a booth item and not for our lovely house…..a 2 tiered rack? You need some carpentry training. Too bad I’m not there to nail some boards for you.

    Ron

  2. Well, Sue, you are definitely living the fabulous vintage life! That’s great stuff there – love that funky cabinet you made!

  3. Oh it’s looks just perfectly gorgeous! I can smell the rosy perfume from here:)

  4. Debbie P.

    Love your blog and this was one terrific entry! You got so much done in one day and I love it all; looks great altogether on your porch; love the colors! I am so inspired right now; wish this snow and ice would go away! Thanks!

  5. Sue, I so want to come and shop with you. Great things.

  6. danaleigh

    Sue, I love everything you did. I want to go to your booth. What are the days/hours open?

  7. Oh my God…you just reminded me…a friend called Monday to tell me to run by such n such street, there is a really cool chest out on the curb…I forgot…

    OH THE SHAME!!! What have I done…what if it was the best piece ever…I’ll not sleep tonight…ha!

    Great stuff, cool blog!

    sharon

  8. PS…sue, not to worry about Ron’s comment…my junk pieces always sold better than my finish carpenter x-husband’s pieces…something about Mars-Venus…too cute!

    sharon(the mad carpenter)

  9. Rachel Knoblich

    Sue…I love the table/shelf with the aqua boards. So cute! You did a great job. Everything is looking good! Glad you had some creative time…wish I had the energy for doing some of those things. I have so much painting to do, but snow and cold doesn’t work here for painting. By the time it’s nice it will be baby time. yikes!

  10. Marie

    Your art is wonderful. I love all your creations.
    Marie

  11. I JUST FOUND YOUR BLOG THIS MORNING. WHAT A HOOT! I LOVE IT THAT YOU DO THINGS OUTSIDE IN YOUR NITEGOWN! I’VE BEEN KNOWN TO JUMP IN MY CAR AND TRASH PICK IN MY JAMMIES. HEY, ON SPECIAL TRASH DAYS, ONE COULD MISS SOME GREAT FINDS IF ONE TOOK THE TIME TO GET DRESSED!. AS A MATTER OF FACT, SOME TIMES I’M NOT THE ONLY ONE WHO HOPS OUT OF THE CAR AND RUNS TO THE CURB IN JAMMIES! TO SOME OF US THIS IS SERIOUS EXCITEMENT! LOL

  12. Love Love Love your projects…..Very very shabby! Just the way we like them!!! Kisses…Tiina…

  13. I think everything you created is fabulous! You do a wonderful job, and have such creative and unique ideas. Very inspiring.

  14. I really love this cabinet Sue–so cute. Oh, those mop buckets could be fun to play with too!

  15. Sue

    I wish we had Trash Day here – you got some great things. I love the little typewriter print on the one photo. Do you mind sharing what program you use? I am in the market for one and just don’t know which one to purchase. Thanks so much , Sue

Leave a Reply

